Your Bag
  1. Your Bag is Empty!

    Let's Start Shopping

Learn About the 4Cs Learn About the 4Cs

Learn About the 4Cs

The 4Cs of Diamonds

Understanding the 4Cs of diamonds is very important in determining which diamond is right for you. The 4Cs refer to: Carat, Clarity, Color, and Cut. Each of the 4Cs can vary from diamond to diamond, and those variations affect the price of the diamond. Here is a guide to hep you understand the main factors impacting the quality and price of your next diamond jewelry piece.


Cut refers to a diamond’s proportions, symmetry, and polish of the facets by the expert cutter. Cut does not refer to the shape of a diamond, such as cushion or princess. Cut determines a diamond’s ability to reflect and refract light, which directly affects a diamond’s beauty. With a better cut, the diamond will exhibit more fire, brilliance, and scintillation. Cut is graded by experts as Fair, Good, Very Good, Excellent, and Ideal.

Fair Cut


Color is the natural color visible in a diamond and does not change over time. Colorless diamonds allow more light to pass through than a colored diamond, releasing more sparkle and fire. Most diamonds naturally exhibit different hues such as gray, brown, and yellow. The lesser the color shown by a diamond, the higher its rarity and value as those with less color allow for more light to pass through, showing greater spark and brilliance.

Color Chart


A diamond’s clarity refers to the presence of impurities on and within the stone. Even when grown in a lab, tiny imperfections might be visible. These are called flaws or inclusions. They form during the growing process and are unique to each stone. The term "eye clean" refers to diamonds whose inclusions generally cannot be seen without magnification, and are typically graded SI or higher on the clarity scale. Diamonds that have few to no inclusions tend to be considered particularly high valued and rare.

Clarity Chart


Carat is the unit of measurement for the physical weight of diamonds, and is one of the most objective measurements of the “Four Cs” for determining the value of a diamond. One carat is equal to 200 milligrams, or 1/5 gram, and is subdivided into 100 “points”. This allows very precise measurements to the hundredth decimal place.





About Diamond Shape

Shape is often confused with Cut. However, shape refers to the geometric outline of the stone, as viewed from above. The shape often determines the overall style of the finished piece of jewelry, but each shape has its own attributes and cut specifications. This means that a diamond’s shape can be faceted, or cut, in many different ways. There are several shapes and cut combinations that appear together, so they have often been given their own names, like round, princess, cushion, and marquise.

  • Round Lab Grown Diamond
  • Oval Lab Grown Diamond
  • Cushion Lab Grown Diamond
  • Pear Lab Grown Diamond
  • Emerald Lab Grown Diamond
  • Radiant Lab Grown Diamond
  • Princess Lab Grown Diamond
  • Marquise Lab Grown Diamond
  • Asscher Lab Grown Diamond
  • Heart Lab Grown Diamond